Collin J Örthner – Photographer

July 5, 2009

Tornado

Filed under: Nature, Skyscape, Storms — collin orthner @ 6:27 am

_MG_0918-2blog

Well actually at the time this image was made it was just a funnel cloud, but it did touch down either just before  or just after I made this image. This storm seemed to have built up very quickly over Red Deer. I had been eating my dinner around 6:30 and had been listening to distant thunder for maybe 10-15 minutes. Having just finished looking at the radar before I went outside to put away a spade, it appeared the storm had dissipated and moved off to the east. Laura followed just behind me and as I bent down to pick up the spade she said “That looks like a funnel cloud!” I looked up and you could see the start of a small triangle poking down from a rather large storm cloud which had built up right behind the previous storm  in only a few minutes. I ran back into the house to grab my camera and the phone. I put a call into Environment Canada and started quickly making images. After shooting a bunch from the back yard I thought it would tell a better story if I could include homes that appeared to be threatened by the storm and ran across our street to a small knoll which gave a nice elevated viewpoint. Just not something you see everyday!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

