Collin J Örthner – Photographer

June 24, 2012

Storied Knife

Filed under: Abstract, Documentary, E-M5, Hand of Man, Industrial, m4/3 — collin j örthner @ 6:40 am

After visiting the farmers market early this morning, to catch a sausage on a bun, and a cup of coffee, and just some general moseying around, we visited a few garage sales in the area before I had to head off to work. The area we were in had a seniors townhouse complex where about 4 or 5 homes were having sales and I found a beautiful old knife that a woman was selling. She told me it was her late husbands and I couldn’t take my eyes off it as it looked fantastic with many years of patina on it. It cost me $1 and I knew immediately that I needed to do some macro photography showing off it’s beauty! I’m sure it has some stories to tell, but I don’t know what they are, likely just a lot of nothing too special. I find it fascinating to look over a tool like this trying to discover a few angles that can document the artifact via interpretation without it being just a straight up boring document from a museum catalogue. Not that these catalogues are terrible, just that they aren’t really an interpretation of the artifact.

I decided that to keep things consistent all the images would be horizontal. I also wanted them to not feel like they were set-up, so I photographed hand-held at very high ISO.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Olympus E-M5, Nikon 50mm f1.8 reversed, Nikon PN-11, Nikon BR-2, Nikon BR-3]

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. Darcy & I love the macro work you did on these photos. We listened closely, and it told us some of its stories … “I’ve been a blue-collar worker all my life…well, actually, as you can see, it’s more of a black-collar. My man and I spent many an hour together – it was hard work, but precise. The materials we split and seperated were many: hemp, sponge, wool, polyester & jute. There were chemicals to rend through; formaldehyde, resins & glues. Do you know what my work was? Blessings – Kim S.

    Comment by Kim Schellenberg — June 24, 2012 @ 7:24 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

