Collin J Örthner – Photographer

December 3, 2012

A New Morning Dawns

Filed under: Abstract, Ice, Nature, Sigma DP2 Merrill, Sigma DP2M, Trees, Winter — collin orthner @ 2:55 pm

Red Deer received about 10cm of snow yesterday and a bit more overnight. This morning dawned to a clean blanket of snow, -16C, and no wind. I knew I needed to get out exploring even though I haven’t been feeling very good for the last few days with a nasty cold. I bundled up and headed out for a couple hours. Everything looked beautiful and the snow crunched under my boots. the only tracks on the trail I took were from a deer earlier in the morning. It was cold enough that I went through a couple of batteries on my camera, so I was thankful I had grabbed three of them before leaving the house. After about an hour or so the sun peaked over a small ridge adding some contrast to this scene and made it feel like the temperature had risen a few degrees even though it hadn’t.

 

 

[Sigma DP2 Merrill]

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

