Collin J Örthner – Photographer

December 5, 2012

Thoughtfully Composing

Filed under: Abstract, Black & White, Ice, Nature, Sigma DP2 Merrill, Sigma DP2M, Trees, Winter — collin orthner @ 10:43 pm

I saw this composition from  quite a ways back on the trail I was walking. I moved forward slowly watching the interactions of the trees in the scene. It  took very careful placement of the tripod and camera to line up things just so. Careful placement for me means I usually find my spot without looking through the camera, or in this case at the screen on the back of the camera, instead using my head. I simply move myself around to see where things line up the best and make a quick mental note of the place my head is in and then set up my tripod, placing my camera as close as possible to that spot. Then I fine tune it looking at the screen. A couple centimetres in any direction can change what I’ll get quite dramatically, and in this case things had to be within a pretty tight tolerance. The two major things I paid close attention to was the way the small brush between the two trees furthest to the right fits between them, and the second was getting the tiny little filigree of a twig near the bottom left corner. I’ll have another post showing this kind of careful attention to detail while composing tomorrow.

 

 

[Sigma DP2 Merrill]

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

