Collin J Örthner – Photographer

December 9, 2012

Bower Woods Triptych

Filed under: Documentary, Hi Res, Ice, Nature, Sigma DP2 Merrill, Sigma DP2M, Trees, Winter — collin j örthner @ 8:36 pm

For anyone following my blog, sorry for a repost of the middle image. I really think it works well though as such a simple and clean image that contrasts with the  messy complexity of the other two framing it. Woods are like that, at least around here. There is some effort involved in cleaning up the “mess” in the viewfinder while looking for an image that holds together compositionally. The two outside images could stand on their own for me, but likely not for many viewers who will probably find the complexity too confusing and unappealing. As a triptych though, they tell a more complete story of the Bower Woods and most of my viewers will enjoy this to a much greater extent. I tend to enjoy looking for hidden patterns and lines etc to pull a very complex scene into something that feels coherent, and I understand that I am in a small minority too! No problem, as I am really out in the woods for myself and making images that allow me to explore my surroundings fully even when they may seem chaotic at first glance. I also enjoy looking at abstract art and many people have no time whatsoever for it and that’s OK. Not everyone enjoys the same things. The world would be a far more boring place if it were so!

Click on the image to embiggen it.

 

 

[Sigma DP2 Merrill]

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

