Collin J Örthner – Photographer

March 1, 2015

601st

No, it isn’t 601 Street, but it is my 601st post on this blog! I had to do inventory at work today from 8 – 4:30 and my Pentax rep dropped by to lend me his demo 645Z medium format camera. Needless to say, even though I was rather tired from the work all day, I had to go for a bit of a drive before the sun went down. So, off I went to some of my favourite areas south of Red Deer. This small stand of trees will likely be torn down shortly as it is one of the last stands in the area that hasn’t been ripped out and burned. So sad, as they look beautiful and I’m pretty sure the birds enjoy them as much as I do! Cross lighting from the beautiful late day sun was really showing off all the texture of the field. The wind was howling across this open field, so I used my extra large, heavy duty tripod to keep things still. The image really doesn’t make you feel as cold as I was!!

 

 

[ Pentax 645Z, Pentax-FA 120mm f/4 Macro]

 

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. Good to see that you are using that macro lens, for more than just macro. – Leslie

    Comment by wildernesslight — March 2, 2015 @ 7:40 pm

    • Thanks for dropping by Leslie! Multi-purpose tools. You gotta use what you’ve got! This lens, the Leica 60mm R, and the Olympus Pen 60mm, all perform admirably when focused at a distance. I wouldn’t say the same for the Hasselblad 120mm though.

      Comment by collin orthner — March 2, 2015 @ 9:07 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

